How Do I Choose the Right Carpet Fiber? What is BCF?

How do I choose the Right Carpet Fiber?

What Does BCF Mean?

Q. I have four kids and three dogs. I need a carpet that is able to take a beating. My question: I am confused about carpet specifications. What is BCF?  I see these initials on the back of some carpet samples but not others? What does this mean?

Alan’s response:

BCF stands for Bulked Continuous Filament. You want to buy a carpet made from a continuous filament fiber. The work “Bulked” refers to a process where the manufacturer makes the strand of fiber beefed up, or bulked to create a fatter and more beefy feel. Think of it like using a volumizer on your hair, it makes it feel thicker and fuller.  The “CF” or Continuous Filament, means the strand is formed or “extruded”  in one long strand.  When they make carpet from a CF fiber is virtually eliminates the shedding and fuzzing that you experience with a carpet made from a Staple Fiber. 

Learn About My Carpet Buying Guide

What is a Staple Fiber?

A Staple Fiber is short lengths of fiber, usually 3 to 10 inches long, that are spun together to make a long strand. Strands are then twisted to form a tuft. When carpet is made using staple fibers, the carpet will tend to shed and fuzz for up to a year after installation. While this is normal, it is not a result that most homeowners enjoy living with. When you vacuum up bag after bag of loose fibers, it makes you think your new carpet will shed so much it will eventually become totally bald! So unless you like vacuuming three times a day, I suggest you be sure to buy a carpet made from a Continuous Filament Fiber. 

Read My full article here

Read Website Article

2 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on How To Buy New Carpet Like A Pro! and commented:

    Most homeowners have little or no clue about the new Carpet they purchase and spend too much and end up unhappy! Learning about how Carpet is made and about the five main carpet specifications will go a long way toward buying a suitable carpet that will last as long as you expect. Visit my free Carpet Information website at AbcCarpets.com to learn more! I also have a special list of locally owned and trusted carpet dealers that I recommend to my readers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

