Carpet Buying Questions and Answers

Carpet Questions & Answers

© Alan J Fletcher – Carpet Expert and Consumer Advocate

Carpet Buying Questions & Answers by trusted consumer advocate. How to choose new Carpet wisely and avoid costly Carpet buying mistakes.

Every homeowner wants to make wise and informed choices when buying new Carpet or Flooring for their home. Here I have posted dozens of Common Carpet Buying Questions and Answers for you to read and learn from. There are hundreds of Q & A here for you to read and it’s a FREE SERVICE to all. If you have a Special Carpet Question,  please email me at Alan@AbcCarpets.com 

Best Carpet for Kids Playroom

I am looking to buy a Karastan Gaviota coast textured carpet for a large playroom, hallway and two bedrooms. There will be a lot of traffic in the playroom. It is a stainmaster ultra life with Tactesse. It does not seem very dense, as I can see the matting when I separate the fibers. It does not tell the fiber density or number of twists. It’s about $5 per sq. ft. I really like the color (It is flecked), but want the retention is more important to me. We have 8 children and pets. Could you please tell me if I should look at different carpeting and if frieze would be a better selection for me?

Answer:

I do not recommend the Tactesse fiber for you, you have too much foot traffic. I think you should go with a nylon frieze style instead. A frieze carpet is tried and tested to be a durable long lasting carpet. Use an 8-pound Rebond padding no thicker than 7/16″. 

Learn more about Carpet Styles – http://www.abccarpets.com/new_page_24.htm


Beach House Carpet

I really need your help. I buying 80 yards of carpet for our beach house -four bedrooms and the hall and stairs. The hall and stairs get heavy wear and traffic. After much research I decided to purchase Berber nylon and was trying to decide between a Lees carpet and another nylon Berber with Scotch guard until I read your web site. Now I am wondering if Berber is the way to go or should I be looking at textured plush or this commercial grade cut pile you refer to on your web site… continued

 

See My List of Recommended Carpet Stores 

http://www.abccarpets.com/best_Carpet_Dealer_list.htm

Read full article:

http://www.abccarpets.com/carpet_information_question_answers.htm

 

Leave a Reply

