Expert Reveals Secrets to Choosing Wisely, Saving Money and Avoiding Scams!


Understanding The P.A.R. Carpet Rating System

One of the ways carpet manufacturers have attempted to help consumers select a suitable carpet is with the P.A.R. Rating System, which stands for Performance, Appearance and Retention. These are three big words that mean very little to most carpet-buying consumers.

I get emails every day from people who want to know what the PAR rating system is and how it works. Sadly, it is a very confusing system that doesn’t really help most consumers make the right carpet choice. Even carpet salespeople are confused about what the PAR numbers mean.

If I were going to design a simple system to rate carpet quality I would call it something more understandable like: The C.A.T. Carpet Rating System. It would help consumers choose the right carpet based on their number of Children, Animals and Teens! These are three real-life factors that need to be considered when choosing the right carpet for you!

The PAR carpet rating system, created by Shaw Industries, designates a number from one-to-five, rating carpet durability based on a typical “family-of-four” scenario. While I’m sure they go through a lot of trouble and expense to provide this rating system, I personally think it falls short of being a trustworthy gauge for consumers. I believe the system is outdated and uses variables too limited in scope and vision.

I think the PAR Rating System is not a trustworthy gauge of “real life” carpet durability; the parameters are too narrow and inconsistent across the board with various styles of carpet. What does this mean? After 30 years in the carpet business I know one thing for sure, there is no such thing as a typical family of four!

Obviously, I do not put much faith in the PAR rating system and do not recommend any consumer rely on the PAR rating system solely to determine which grade of carpet can effectively meet their needs and goals.

My advice: When you decide to buy new carpet, you need to ask yourself some important questions before you should decide on which carpet to buy.

These questions are:

  • What is the level-of-foot-traffic in my home?
  • How long do I want my carpet to last?
  • How much carpet do I need?
  • How much does carpet, carpet padding and installation cost?
  • What is my budget for this project?
  • Which carpet style should I select?
  • What carpet pile thickness, density and face-weight should I select?
  • What quality or grade of carpet will meet my needs, goals and lifestyle?
  • Where can I find the best deal on the right carpet?

These questions are the tip of the iceberg!  Do you want to save hundreds on your next carpet purchase? To get an idea about what grade of carpet you need in your home take my free Carpet Foot Traffic Test.

Looking for a Reputable Carpet Store?

Visit Alan’s Preferred Carpet Dealer Directory at AbcCarpets.com.

Visit my FREE Carpet Information Website

 

Comments on: "The Carpet PAR Rating System (P.A.R.)" (2)

  1. Howdy, I just wanted to let you know I have added you to my Google bookmarks because of your fantastic site layout ;). But honestly, I feel your webpage has one of the cleanest design I have ever seen. It really makes your information easier to browse through. Well gotta run, I’m at work now at Honolulu floor installation I’ll definitely be back to continue reading.

  2. [...] select their new carpet based on price, color and perhaps a durability rating like Shaw’s PAR Rating System. I firmly believe it’s very important for homeowners to have complete access to all the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 523 other followers

